My Kids Teach Me Everyday

I’ve been feeling a little down lately. My husband still hasn’t been working as much as we need him to be, I haven’t heard back from any of the places I’ve applied for part time second jobs, and the bills are piling up.

Tonight, while the kids were running around and playing, I sat on the couch and fought back tears as I tried to work out a budget. After eventually giving up (hard to budget when you don’t know how much your next paycheck will be), I say back and watched them. They were playing with the Lego, and looking at one of the inserts that came with it (the ones that show other sets). 

They were talking amongst themselves about how they wish they had that one set, but since they don’t, they’ll just pretend, and use the pieces that they have to build things they want.

Yeah, I know, it’s not an epiphany of huge proportions, but I think it’s what I needed to hear. We always work with what we have. Sometimes it’s not quite right, or not quite enough, but it’s what we’ve got, and we make it work.

Things will get better (they HAVE to), and I’m so glad my kids were here when I needed them to be.

Leave a Reply

